Young Scientist Award

The BLCS Young Scientist Award is normally presented annually for significant research contributions to the field of liquid crystals. Candidates must normally be within 10 years of beginning their PhD and should be active members of the Society, working in the UK at the time of their nomination. Nominees will have been awarded their PhD in the UK in some area of liquid crystal science or technology or they will have made significant contributions to liquid crystal science in the UK, perhaps after a PhD in another country or in another field. The Award is open equally to those from academic and industrial backgrounds.

The recipient will give an oral presentation of the work that forms the basis for the Award at the Annual Conference of the Society and a description of this work, written by the recipient, will appear in the Society’s Newsletter.

The Award takes the form of a cheque for £250 and a certificate.

Candidates require both a nominator and a seconder. The nominator should be a member of the Society. The nomination will take the form of no more than one side of A4, plus a CV (max two sides of A4) and a list of the nominee’s publications. Part of the nomination must include a statement by the nominator identifying clearly the nominee’s independent contributions to the work on which the nomination is based.

Details of the nomination process can be found here.

Previous BLCS Young Scientists:

2024: Yuan Shen & Ewan Cruickshank
2023: No award
2022: Joseph Cousins
2021: Devesh Mistry
2020: Rebecca Walker
2019: Markus Wahle
2018: No award
2017: Daniel Corbett & Richard Mandle
2016: No award
2015: Mamatha Nagaraj
2014: Gareth Alexander
2013: Sarabjot Kaur
2012: Apala Majumdar

2011: Verena Görtz
2010: Steve Morris
2009: No award
2008: No award
2007: Paul Brimicombe
2006: Xiangbing Zeng
2005: Sharon Jewell
2004: Nicholas Roberts
2003: Owan Lozman
2002: Lesley Parry-Jones
2001: No award
2000: Nigel Mottram
1999: Martin Bates
1998: Richard Miller
1997: Diana Ulrich
1996: Guy Bryan-Brown
1995: Andrew Emerson
1994: Cliff Jones
1993: Corrie Imrie
1992: Mark Wilson
1991: Stephen Elston
1990: Duncan Bruce