The following prizes are awarded by the BLCS:

The Gray Medal 
The Hilsum Medal 
The Sturgeon Lectureship 
The Sturgeon Prize (with SID UK and Ireland) 
The BLCS Young Scientist Award

The call for nominations for the 2023 awards is now open. It was opened in December 2022 and will close on the deadline date of 10th February 2023 for panel decision.

See also, the 2024_call_for_nominations and nomination rules.


The BLCS Awards Committee

Each year nominations received are reviewed by a panel of experts following Terms of Reference.

Awards committee members 2022-2023

  • Prof Geoffrey Luckhurst
  • Prof Julia Yeomans FRS