Sturgeon Prize

The Ben Sturgeon Prize is made annually by the Society for Information Display (UK and Ireland Chapter) in conjunction with the BLCS, to individuals or groups who have made a significant contribution to the development of displays. Since the inauguration of the award, many recipients have made advances in liquid crystal displays. Ben Sturgeon worked in this area but, recently, new display technologies have developed and it is intended to make the award in the future to a wider scope of technologies. The criterion will remain to make the award to those young scientists and engineers who have made a significant contribution to the field of displays. Since this is an award made by the UK & Ireland Chapter of the SID, it is expected that a significant fraction (but not necessarily all) of the work will have taken place in the UK or Ireland.

Eligibility for the Award

1. Young Scientists or Engineers (under 40)
2. Must have made significant contributions to the displays field over the past 10 years

The Nomination process (deadline 30th April)

1. Letter of nomination clearly setting out the value of the nominee’s work.
2. Additional letters of support are helpful but not essential
3. CV for the nominee
4. Publications (papers and patents) list
5. Copies of key papers
6. Nominations should be sent electronically to


Previous Ben Sturgeon Prize Winners:

2018: James Harding
2015: Harry Milton
2014: Steve Morris
2013: Jamieson Christmas
2012: Ben Broughton
2011: Thomas Anthopoulos

2010: Mike Weaver
2009: Ed Buckley
2008: Ifor Samuel
2007: Carl Brown
2006: G Bourhill, D Kean, J Mather and H Stevenson
2005: Graham Woodgate
2004: Mike Brownlow
2003: Tim Wilkinson
2002: Steve Elston
2000: Ian Underwood
1998: Guy Bryan-Brown
1996: Colin Waters
1994: Chris Booth
1993: Patrick Nolan & Martin Tillin
1992: Cliff Jones & Mike Towler