

Registered Charity No. 328163

Calls for nominations to the Steering Committee - 2023

The following BLCS committee positions are now available:

- **Treasurer** the elected person will be Treasurer-elect from the date of the election until the Annual Meeting in March/April in 2024, when they will become Treasurer for three years.
- **Ordinary Members** those elected will serve for just under three years from the date of the election until the Annual Meeting in March/April 2026.
- **Chair-elect** the elected person will be Chair-elect from the date of the election until the Annual Meeting in March/April 2024 when they will take over as Chair for two years, and then be Vice-Chair for a further year.

Both nominees and nominators (proposer & seconder) must be members of the Society and the permission of the nominee must be obtained. Nominations should be made by **email**. The Nomination form is on the last page of this letter.

The timeline for the election process is as follows:

- 14th April Nominations open.
- 12th May Nominations close.
- 19th May Members will be told of the nominees for each post and online voting begins.
- 9th June Voting ends.
- 16th June Announcement of successful nominees.

Details of the online voting will be released in due course.

We acknowledge that this election is unusual due to the previous elections during the Covid19 outbreak, which have forced a change in timings, and that the next terms of office will aim to return us to the normal timetable (i.e. election deadline at the Annual meeting each year).

For your information here is a list of the current Committee Members:

Officers

Chair	Prof Nigel Mottram (Glasgow)
Vice Chair	Dr Susanne Klein
Secretary	Dr Alf Martinez-Felipe (Aberdeen)
Treasurer	Prof Giampaolo D'Alessandro (Southampton)
Communications	Dr Tim Spencer (Sheffield Hallam)

Ordinary Members of the Committee

Dr Dwaipayan Chakrabarti (Birmingham)	
Dr Philip Hands (Edinburgh)	
Dr Garry Lester (L-lectronics Ltd)	
Dr Rebecca Walker (Aberdeen)	
Dr Damian Gardiner (Optomel Ltd)	
Dr Joseph Cousins (Strathclyde)	
James Dalby (Strathclyde)	

Nominations by Email

The proposer should email the following information to the Secretary (a.martinez-felipe@abdn.ac.uk)

Subject: BLCS committee nominations

Position: Treasurer/Ordinary Member/Chair-elect (delete as needed)

Nominee: Name and email

Proposed by: Name and email **Seconded by:** Name and email

Only one nomination should be made per email.