British Liquid Crystal Society

Minutes of the BLCS Committee Meeting held on 28th March 2007, University of Sheffield.

1. Present:

Helen Gleeson (Chair) Maureen Neal (Secretary), Avtar Matharu (Treasurer), Martin Bates, Georg Mehl, Goran Ungar, Chris Newton, Susanne Klein, Tim Wilkinson, Nigel Mottram.

Apologies: Corrie Imrie (Vice Chair), Stephen Cowling.

2. Report on BLCS Conference 2006 York

The BLCS Annual Conference for 2006 was held in York on 11-13 April. In total 126 delegates attended, although about 8 of these attended either for one day, or just the 20th anniversary celebration meal. The residential registration fees were £240 for academics and £190 for students. Non-residential registration fees were £120 for both academics and students. The discounted fee for residential students and the costs of the invited speakers were more than covered by the sponsorship raised, and we were able to return a profit back to the Society of £1329.56.

3. Report on Winter workshop 2006

To follow.

4. ILCC

Committee had been asked their views on five cities for the ILCC 2010 meeting by CI. HG reported that the choice was now between two, in Poland and Germany.

5. Lectures and Awards 2007

Sturgeon Lecture – Carsten Tschierske GW Gray Medal – Robert Meyer Cyril Hilsum Medal – Cliff Jones Young Scientist – Paul Brimicombe

6. Annual Accounts

Attached.

7. Elections to committee and retirements

Maureen Neal has completed her term as Secretary and retires from committee. Martin Bates and Nigel Mottram have served a term of three years and retire from the committee. All those retiring were thanked for their hard work over the past years.

Martin Bates and Tim Wilkinson have been nominated as secretary. Peter Raynes has been nominated as an ordinary member.