Minutes of the Steering Committee of the British Liquid Crystal Society 14th April 2014

University of Durham

Members Present: Ingo Dierking (Chair; ID), Mark Wilson (Vice-Chair; MW), Stephen Cowling (Secretary; SC), Carl Brown (Treasurer; CB), Andrew Masters (AM), Verena Gortz (VG), Vasily Oganesyan (VO), Nigel Mottram (NM), and Kirsty Holdsworth (Student; KH), Owen Lozman (OL) and Rachel Tuffin (RT).

Absent: Flynn Castles (Communications; FC) and Peter Raynes (PR) sent their apologies for not attending the committee meeting. Robert Richardson (RR)

Actions

- ID to approach the chair of the German LCS about arrangements for a joint meeting.
- ID and SC to notify the society of the discussion of the committee regarding signatures on the society chequebook and to allow members to vote on the issue
- CB to approach the mint for quotations for 3 new Gray and Hilsum medals.

Minutes

The Society is now affiliated to the International Liquid Crystal Society and the committee expressed gratitude to VG for finalising the process. It was also confirmed that the BLCS Chair would now stand on the ILCS board.

The next ELC conference was discussed and it was presumed that the next meeting would be held in Cambridge. This raised the issue as to what would happen with the Anglo-German meeting that was debated at the previous AGM. It was concluded that the first meeting should be held in Germany and ID as chair of the Society would contact the chair of the German liquid crystal society to discuss arrangements.

The committee agreed to raise the student bursary from £200 to £250 with a maximum of 4 bursaries to be distributed in any one calendar year. Thus far two bursaries have been confirmed in the current year.

The membership fees were discussed with a view to separating the annual membership fee from the conference fee. This was agreed in principle but members of the committee felt that an online system would need to be created which would also allow members to check how long their membership has remaining. It was also agreed to increase the membership fee from £10 to £15 with an option to pay for 5 years in advance at a reduced rate of £50.

CB requested that the Treasurer be allowed to sign off cheques up to the value of £300 without the need of a second signature. The committee agreed in principle but felt that it should go to vote at the AGM. It was also highlighted that the committee would need this ratifying by the bank too.

CB also discussed the possibility of increasing the number of signituaries on the account to three so that larger cheques would be able to be processed should the chair be unavailable to sign. Once again it was decided that the society should vote on the issue at the AGM.

The cost of the Gray and Hilsum medals were discussed since new medals are required from the mint. Some concerns were raised about the costs and whether the society or the mint hold the dies for the medals and whether a cheaper supplier could be sourced. ID indicated that the mint should be asked for a price as soon as possible so that the medals could be ordered.

VG expressed concerns that the student member should be included in the voting at all levels on the committee. This was discussed with concerns that the student member would not have the level of experience to vote on elite awards but a majority vote decided that the student should have the same voting rights as the

other board members. KH did express concerns that the student role was a little

voyeuristic rather than proactive in its current form.

SC notified the committee of the nominations that had been received for election

onto the committee:

John Goodby (Industry Member) – nominated by Michael Hird and Robert Lewis

Stephen Cowling (Chair) – nominated by Peter Raynes and Helen Gleeson

Andrew Masters (Chair) - nominated by Mark Wilson and Georg Mehl

SC also raised the issue that more members were required onto the committee

based on members that were due to end their term of service - Robert

Richardson and Peter Raynes in addition to Owen Lozman (Industry). SC also

highlighted that election of either SC or AM as Chair would also have knock on

effects to the current committee numbers.

Secretary

Ingo Dierking

Chair